LoveVampires - the website dedicated to vampire fiction.
With vampire book reviews, information and author interviews.

Search LoveVampires Site:

Custom Search
Skip Navigation
Bookmark and Share
Silver Borne Cover Picture

Silver Borne

Patricia Briggs

Published 2010               342 pages

Summary (from the book jacket)

Being a mechanic is hard work. Mercy Thompson, for instance, just spent the last couple of months trying to evade the murderous queen of the local vampire seethe, and now the leader of the werewolf pack - who's maybe-more-than-just-a-friend - has asked for her help. A book of fae secrets has come to light and they're all about to find out how implacable - and dangerous - the fae can be.

Okay, so maybe her troubles have nothing to do with the job. But she sure could use a holiday…

The Review

Silver Borne is the fifth book in Patricia Briggs’s popular Mercy Thompson urban fantasy series. Each book in the series features a new mystery and adventure for series protagonist Mercy Thompson but they are all part of a larger story arc so while new readers could probably read Silver Borne by itself I’d recommend reading the books in series order for maximum enjoyment. This is no hardship because all of the books in this series are exceedingly good. Silver Borne is no exception to this rule.

This time out readers see Mercy still struggling to adjust to her relationship with Adam, alpha of the local werewolf pack. She is Adam’s mate but as a skinwalker Mercy shapeshifts into a coyote – leaving a lot of dissention amongst the ranks of the pack, some of whom think that a coyote isn’t a suitable mate for an alpha werewolf. Being a skinwalker gives Mercy a whole host of other nifty talents, immunity to some magic and an ability to see the dead just for starters, and this combined with Mercy’s unerring ability to find any trouble in her vicinity means there is always a huge potential for exciting supernatural mysteries and adventures whenever she’s around.

Silver Borne is densely plotted, in addition to Mercy’s pack problems she also has to deal with her friend and roommate Sam taking a turn for the suicidal. This is always going to be a toughie for any friend to deal with but since Sam is a strong werewolf it’s more a case for damage limitation than therapy or counselling. To add to the confusion, sometime ago Mercy borrowed a book of fae secrets but when she tries to return the book back to it’s owner he can’t be found – and foul play looks most likely…
 
At this point in the review I feel the need to point out that despite containing a wide variety of supernatural creatures Silver Borne doesn’t actually have any vampires in it. Still only the most hard-core vampire fans will mourn their loss because with a skinwalker, a plethora of werewolves, a fairy queen and a grumpy gremlin – to name but a few of the fantasy creatures in this story – there is plenty here to keep fantasy fans entertained.

Seamlessly mixing romance with fantasy, mystery and adventure Silver Borne is another top quality instalment of the Mercy Thompson series. Patricia Briggs goes from strength-to-strength in her fantasy writing and once again proves she’s at the top of her game. She has raised the bar for urban fantasy authors with her Mercy Thompson series and Silver Borne is another near perfect example of a book in this genre. On general principle it’s been marked down by half a star for its lack of vampire content but if I wasn’t a woman of principle it would definitely be a five star read!

Highly recommended reading for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Kim Harrison and Charlaine Harris. If you love urban fantasy I can’t image why this book isn’t already in your shopping cart. Brilliant!

LoveVampires Review Rating:

Review Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

Latest Reviews

LoveVampires RSS Feed

Editor’s Choice

Editor's Choice

Magic Rises
by Ilona Andrews

If you’re looking for an urban fantasy story featuring a kick-ass heroine with real intelligence, a lively wit, valiant heart and killer sword skills then look no further than Magic Rises latest installment of the Kate Daniels UF series.
Read the Magic Rises review.

advertisement

Latest Interview

J. R Ward Picture

J.R. Ward

J.R. Ward talks to the LoveVampires site about LOVER UNLEASHED the latest book in her phenomenally popular Black Dagger Brotherhood series and drops a few hints on what’s in store for BDB fans in the future…
Read the J.R. Ward interview

Book Giveaway

Giveaway details and entry form

WIN a copy of Black Swan Rising by Lee Carroll. We have one copy to giveaway – open WORLDWIDE!

Site Videos

Watch popular vampire related videos

Watch book trailers, author interviews, vampire movie and TV show information and trailers.

Subscribe

Subscribe to the LoveVampires email newsletter and get site news, reviews and information delivered direct to your mailbox.
Join the mailing list

Review Ratings

  • 1 star = Poor
  • 2 star = Below average
  • 3 star = Average
  • 4 star = Good
  • 5 star = Excellent